Ranking Novak’s 10 Australian Open Wins

AP Photo/Alberto Pezzali, File

Ranking Novak’s 10 Australian Open Wins

Novak Djokovic’s dominance at the Australian Open is nothing short of legendary, earning him the title of the “King of the Australian Open”.

As we reflect on his remarkable achievements, let’s rank his 10 victories at this prestigious Grand Slam event, each one marking a chapter in his illustrious career. Do you agree with the ranking?

2008 – Breakthrough Win: Djokovic’s first Australian Open triumph in 2008 was a breakthrough moment, signaling his arrival among the tennis elite. Little did we know that this kid from Serbia would become the greatest tennis player of all time.

2012 – Third title In Four Years: Djokovic’s third Australian Open win in 2012 showcased his ability to grind out tough five-set matches. He would beat Andy Murray in five in the semi, following by beating Rafa Nadal in another five-set thriller in the final.

2020 – Eighth Australian Open Crown: With his 2020 triumph, Djokovic secured his eighth Australian Open title, reaffirming his supremacy in Melbourne. He also did it in style, treating us to a come from behind victory against Dominic Thiem in five grueling sets.

2016 – Sixth Crown: In 2016, Djokovic secured his sixth Australian Open title, making it look too easy, dispatching Federer in four in the semis and Murray in three in the final. This would be the fourth and final time he would meet Murray in the final.

2013 – Fourth Triumph: The 2013 victory marked his fourth Australian Open win, solidifying his status as a force to be reckoned with in the tennis world. In what would become customary, he would beat Andy Murray in the final.

2011 – First Meeting with Murray: The 2011 victory saw Djokovic beat Murray in straight sets in what would be the first of four meetings with Murray in Australian Open finals.

2019 – Seventh Title: In 2019, Djokovic claimed his seventh Australian Open crown, showcasing his enduring dominance over the competition. He met Nadal for the second time in a final. But not even the Man from Mallorca could stop the Djokovic train. He destroyed Nadal in straight sets.

2015 – Eighth Grand Slam: The 2015 win not only marked his fifth Australian Open victory but also his eighth Grand Slam title overall, easily beating Murray in the final.

2021 – 18th Grand Slam: this is the first of two meetings with Medvedev. As Medvedev would experience in the second meeting. The first meeting was no contest. Djokovic wins the final in straight sets.

2023 – 10th Australian Open: This was his 10th title down under, and a little underwhelming. To achieve this fantastic feat, he tore through the draw easily and put on a clinic in the final, dismantling Daniil Medvedev in straight sets.

Like always, don’t forget to jump on to the TennisPAL app to stay up to date on tennis news, find groups of friends to play with, and get a virtual coach to help with your tennis game.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I agree with TennisPAL Privacy Policy

Comments: 0

There are no comments available