Australian Open Legends – Novak Djokovic

AP/Dita Alangkara, file

Australian Open Legends – Novak Djokovic

Last week we profiled Andre Agassi for our Australian Open Legends series. Although Andre has an amazing record at the Australian Open, winning four titles down under, there is one man who has become the absolute king down under. That man is Novak Djokovic. The Australian Open is the tournament he has performed the best at. He has won an astounding eight titles in 15 tries. There’s no reason why he can’t add to that title haul either. Djokovic is currently at the top of the tennis world and playing his best tennis. It is very possible he’ll add at least a couple more Australians to his resume.

One of the most interesting story lines of his title haul at the Australian Open is that six of those titles have come at the expense of both Andy Murray and Rafael Nadal. Also, only once has any of these two players taken Djokovic to a fifth set in an Australian Open final. That was Nadal at the 2012 Australian Open, where Djokovic would go on to win 7-5 in the fifth. Other than that, most of these finals have consisted of three set and four set affairs. Some of them have been complete drubbings, such as the 2019 Australian Open final where he would beat Nadal 6-2, 6-3, 6-3.

Here’s what’s even more impressive though; Djokovic has never lost a final at the Australian Open. Every final he has participated in, he has won. The years he has not won, he has bowed out either in the early rounds or in the quarterfinals. That means that if he makes that final, he’s a sure bet!

He’ll be going into the 2021 Australian Open as the number one seed and the heavy favorite. Expect Djokovic to win his ninth Australian Open final.

Here’s a look at his eight Australian Open finals:

2008 Australian Open defeats Jo-Wilfried Tsonga: 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 7-6
2011 Australian Open defeats Andy Murray: 6-4, 6-2, 6-3
2012 Australian Open defeats Rafa Nadal: 5-7, 6-4, 6-2, 6-7, 7-5
2013 Australian Open defeats Andy Murray: 6-7, 7-6, 6-3, 6-2
2015 Australian Open defeats Andy Murray: 7-6, 6-7, 6-3, 6-0
2016 Australian Open defeats Andy Murray: 6-1, 7-5, 7-6
2019 Australian Open defeats Rafa Nadal: 6-3, 6-2, 6-3
2020 Australian Open defeats Dominic Thiem: 6-4, 4-6, 2-6, 6-3, 6-4

Like always, don’t forget to jump on to the TennisPAL app to stay up to date on tennis news, find groups of friends to play with, and get a virtual coach to help with your tennis game.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I agree with TennisPAL Privacy Policy

Comments: 0

There are no comments available